Wednesday, January 30, 2013

LA - here I come!

Hey guys!! Sorry – once again, it’s been super crazy this past week but I have some time finally so I’ll try and catch you up on how the tour’s been going.

Can I just start by saying how deliriously happy I am right now? We’re definitely into the best part of the tour and I’m loving every second. First off, we spent the weekend in Vancouver and it was beyond amazing. Saturday, a bunch of us went out for breakfast at this adorable little café right before our show and then only had ONE show before getting the rest of the day off. Plus, it was our last show for awhile as the trek to LA is a number of days. They also screwed up our reservation at our Vancouver hotel so we each got our own rooms! As much as I love B…it was nice to have a couple nights entirely to myself.

Saturday night, I headed to Granville Island with some of my cast to see a show. It was called, Ride the Cyclone, and it’s a new Canadian musical touring across Canada. Tim knows a guy in it and highly recommended that we see it and I’m so glad we did. It was AMAZING. By far one of the best pieces of theatre I’ve seen in a long time. And it’s heading to the Citadel in Edmonton next month so you should definitely see it if you can! After the show, we all headed to a little seafood restaurant for a late dinner and had a couple bottles of wine and just enjoyed ourselves…I can’t get over how well we all get along. It truly is such a great group.

Sunday morning I got up bright and early on our day off to run the seawall at Stanley Park with Tim. It was a little chilly but so gorgeous and so nice to run in clean air for a change. After our run, we went for breakfast with Amelia at a cute Italian café and then I spent the afternoon with my girlfriend Jess from Grant MacEwan. Then, that evening, I went for dinner with Jaclyn, Kim, Gill and Sara from school and had such a wonderful evening of food, drinks and catching up. I love that my job allows me to visit old friends I haven’t seen in so long…it’s the best.

Monday we began our trek to LA! Our first stop was Portland, so we left Van around noon and after a couple hours at the border (which is typical on tour) we finally made it to Portland. I was super excited to be there as I’ve been reading a book series set there for the past couple years and it was awesome to see what the city actually looked like. We also drove through Seattle, which was cool to see. I wish we got to stay there too – but ultimately, it’s just so awesome to see so many US cities I would’ve never been able to visit otherwise.

Yesterday was our super-long drive day…just over 11 hours from Portland to Stockton, California. But can I say, as soon as we hit Cali, my mood immediately lifted even higher than I thought it could. It was suddenly sunny (after Vancouver and Portland, it had been awhile since we saw the sun), warm and GREEN! I feel like I’m dreaming – I can’t get over how gorgeous it is here. And that I’m being paid to be here. WHAT IS MY LIFE?!

Today, we’re finally driving to Los Angeles…I’m currently in the van, driving through olive, wine and fruit country and loving the crap out of my life. We’re even taking a detour on the way to our hotel and going to some wineries. WINERIES. I’m so happy I could cry. Plus, I’m just excited to be in LA…and have 2 days off to explore. We’re thinking of renting a car so that we can go to the beach and Santa Monica and stuff. We’re also gonna hike up to the Hollywood sign, hit up an LA Kings game…it’s gonna be great. The only tough part will be getting up at 4 AM to be on TV tomorrow morning…we also have to perform a song that’s not even in the show so we’ve been rehearsing like crazy to get it together. However, it’s apparently the most popular morning show in LA so I’m very excited.

So, long story short…everything is going swimmingly. And I’m so thankful for this experience and so in love with everyone. I can’t say it enough. I’m livin the dream…and it’s glorious.

Friday, January 25, 2013

Moisture, green grass, no snow...is this heaven? Nope, just Vancouver.

Greetings from the West Coast! Well…Surrey…but, we’re ALMOST on the coast. So it counts. Almost.

It’s so wonderful to be in BC though. We were in Kelowna the past couple of days and it was just glorious. Minus the fact that it was still snowy…I don’t know why I got it into my brain that it doesn’t snow in Kelowna but I was definitely mistaken. However, seeing the lake in the winter was pretty cool! And our hotel was super gorgeous (nothing like the gross Travelodge we stayed in on the last tour through Kelowna). Our road manager has an account with Sandman so we pretty much only stay at Sandman hotels…which is great because a lot of them are super nice. And they always have a Moxie’s attached (and I have gift cards!).

Kelowna in the winter

But yeah, our shows went well in Kelowna…then we had a nice short drive day to Surrey (only 4 hours!! WAHOO!). And I can’t even tell you how happy I am to be here…I’m not the hugest fan of Vancouver however I passed out for about 20 min in the van near the end of the drive yesterday and when I woke up, there was no snow and it was GREEN. EVERYWHERE. I thought I was dreaming. I haven’t been that happy all tour. And I think now that we’re on the coast, it’s starting to sink in that the next month on the road will continue to be on the coast in snow-free cities…and I’m beyond excited about it. It’s gonna get really good from this point on :).

We also got in pretty early yesterday so we kind of had a half-day off! And we’re staying in a gorgeous suites hotel with full kitchens so we decided to have a potluck family dinner because we could all finally cook. So that afternoon, we went and got groceries and then B and I hosted the party in our room (naturally) and we had pasta, salad, bread, roasted veggies, meatballs, brownies and copious amounts of wine…it was amazing. And everyone came! We played games and drank and just had a really wonderful evening…once again, it’s so nice to be with such a fantastic group of people who all get along and want to hang out all the time. I know this may change over the next couple months…but right now, we’re still in that honeymoon stage. And I love it.

We are a wine-loving cast
 
My plate

But I’m gonna go start getting ready – we have another 2-show day today. Then we’re only 1 day away from our day off!! It’s so close I can taste it!

So happy to be in Vancouver!

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

On the road again!

Ok, blog…I’m sorry…again…I’m hardcore sucking at this this time around. But the past couple weeks have been some the craziest and busiest times in my life. I’ve barely had a moment to breathe, never mind blog…but all is well now! We’re in Kelowna! And the tour is really starting to pick up from here. I’m so excited to share all of my upcoming adventures.

But back on track, since I last left you, we had yet to hit the road…however, I’m happy to say that we’ve successfully been on the road for nearly 2 weeks and the show is going swimmingly! Plus, we’re over the mid-Canada prairie hump now…so the scenery becomes way more interesting.

However, going back to tech weekend and where my last blog post ended…we survived tech and opening weekend in Winnipeg. It was so wonderful and exciting to finally have an audience, and also to see the Doodlebops’ show for the first time. I may have cried a little (or, let’s get serious, a LOT) when they started and I saw B rockin’ it out in one of her dream roles. I was so proud of her and insanely happy and emotional. Plus, just seeing their show and our show all come together made me really excited. This truly is such a wonderful monster I’m now apart of and I love every bit of it.

After we opened in Winnipeg, we began our trek across the prairies. We had shows in Prince Albert, Saskatoon and then Regina – where our show got another re-vamp and we had to head into rehearsal again to change a bunch of stuff. It was a little stressful…but we pulled it together. Then we had more shows in Edmonton, Calgary and Medicine Hat before finally heading to BC.

It was super awesome to be home briefly, but also kind of difficult…I almost wish I had been home for longer or not at all as 24 hours really wasn’t enough time to do everything I wanted to do. I didn’t feel emotionally there…I think because my brain has been in this show and with this project for so long, and I know how much more of it we have left, it was kind of hard to get excited about being home. But I was happy I got to see everyone. I think I made the best use of the short amount of time I had. I also got to perform on the Jubilee stage – which has been a dream of mine since I saw Annie there when I was 12. It was surreal to finally be on that stage…it still feels like a dream. Then, the next day, we headed to the Calgary jube and it was literally the EXACT same layout and everything, haha. So bizarre. I also got to go for breakfast with Eric and Emma before my shows which was nice...it was a wonderful, albeit brief, weekend at home.

Finally on the Jube stage!

But yeah – overall the show has been going well…we’ve just been battling some sickness and stuff in the cast. We haven’t really had a real day off since New Year’s Day and with the insane schedule of the first couple weeks of tour, everyone’s really starting to feel it…but the good news is, we’re now less than a week away from our day off in Vancouver! So that’s exciting. I plan on treating myself to some sushi and maybe even a massage while I’m there…I’m in desperate need of both things.

However, despite the craziness, stress, exhaustion, and illness…I’m so incredibly happy with my life right now. I truly feel like I’m living the dream. I know I say it a lot…but I’m euphoric. Our cast and crew is so amazing and I really love everyone to bits. I’ve made some sensational new friends and even though my only days off so far have been 10-hour drive days, I’m just so insanely happy to be there with everyone. In the van, onstage, backstage, at the hotel, out for dinner…it’s heaven. This is truly becoming one of the best experiences of my life and I know it’s only going to get better. I can’t believe we’ll be in L.A. in just over a week!! What is my life?!


I’ve also taken a real initiative with my health on this tour…thankfully, everyone else is pretty health-conscious so it’s been easy to eat properly and keep in shape. Plus (as I’ve already told many of you), I’m hardcore into doing these “Tap Out” workouts with Tim and Kaitlin…we get one in almost every day and especially on days like today, after a long drive…it just feels so good to get your body working and moving. I need it. I feel happy, healthy and strong. And it’s amazing.

But I’ll stop yakking…I’m gonna try and get some sleep before another 2-show day tomorrow. But things are really going so unbelievably well. I can’t believe this is my life.

Thursday, January 10, 2013

Craziest week of my life!

Sorry, blog…I know it’s been almost an entire week. But it’s been crazy over here in Winnipeg. There have been a lot of ups and downs…but right now, everything is finally moving seriously on the up :)

Quick recap…

Saturday – Rehearsal and recording…it was super cool to go into a real recording studio and sing through all my songs! And luckily, the tempo of my solo had to be sped up and since it would take the guy awhile to fix the track, I got bumped to Tuesday to finish recording which meant more rest for my voice which I desperately needed. That night – I met up with my girlfriend Nicolette (from the Busytown tour) and we went for Thai food and had a nice visit and catch-up session.

Sunday – More rehearsal…it was a long day and had been a long and stressful weekend so that evening, we all went over to our assistant director/choreographer’s house for drinks, snacks and hanging out. I may have drank a little too much wine…most people drank a little too much wine…but I think we all really needed to unwind. Plus, it was just so much fun. I’m so in love with my cast! Everyone is so wonderful and so far, we’re all getting along just swimmingly. I’m very excited to spend the next 3 months of my life with them.

Monday – Day off!! Sort of…it was supposed to be our day off but at noon, Kaitlin, Amelia and I got a call while we were at the mall asking us to come into the office for an emergency costume fitting as they had just booked us for a Breakfast Television TV spot the next morning. So our day off got cut a little short…but my costume is super adorable!! I love the crap out of it. Who ever thought that I could pull off yellow?

Tuesday – Longest day yet…we were all up at 5 AM to be at the office by 6 to get into hair, make-up and costumes. Then we were taken to the TV studio for the interview…it went really well though and it was super fun to finally be in my full costume and wig. After the interview, we went back to the office to change, and then the 4 of us who had done it got a breakfast break so we went to this cute little café (one of my favorite Winnipeg spots) called, Stella’s. Then we rehearsed for most of the day…then Kaitlin and I had to go back to the recording studio to re-record some stuff. My song sounds so much better now that it’s sped up! And we just had so much fun jamming with the music guy, Phil…I adore Kaitlin. She’s such a wonderful energy. So glad to have made another wonderful friend.

BT Winnipeg!

Wednesday – More rehearsal…this time at the dance studio we sometimes rehearse at which was nice because it’s a much bigger (and lighter) space. Sure beats the mini basement studio at the office…we rehearsed all morning and then the whole tech crew as well as the head honcho at the office came to watch a dress run of the show. No wigs…but our first time working in the costumes and finally getting to see everyone’s costumes. Omg, we’re all so cute and colorful…I’m super in love with this show.

Thursday…TODAY – Our first day in the theatre!! We started our tech weekend today and finally got to load into our Winnipeg theatre. The morning started off with some media training (which I already did for Busytown last year but figured I would go through again as it is a new show) which went well…I aced the first exercise and apparently did the best in the company’s history on it, haha. Basically I’m just good at ad-libbing…and not saying “ums, ahs or likes”. We then had wig training as all the wigs are really expensive and high quality and need lots of care…they also need to be super pinned onto our heads so they don’t fall off when we dance, haha. And then we did mic checks and a tech stumble through of the show. Our set is SO cute. And everyone sounds amazing. My voice is finally back (though I’m still missing a small portion of it in my upper range) and I’m feeling really good, well-rested and healthy. FINALLY.

This past week has been ridiculously stressful and crazy and I’ve had some pretty brutal moments…but today, everything started really coming together. I adore this show, these people and I’m so thankful to have this opportunity. It all really hit me today…as soon as we hit the stage. This is really happening. I’ve wanted this for almost a year and now I’m actually here. I’m so incredibly thankful and happy and excited to share this show with everyone. It’s going to be amazing. I can’t wait to open!!

I apologize for the crazy long post…hopefully you made it this far, haha. As for me – I’m off to have some tea and get a good night’s sleep. 2 more 14-hour days to go!

Friday, January 4, 2013

Dear voice: Your return would be much appreciated

Rehearsal, rehearsal, rehearsal. That is my life. The past 3 days have been full busy days of singing and dancing…the show is gonna be super cute though. Plus, I get to play guitar now! Well, pretend to play guitar…but it is kind of fun to rock out. I just need to figure out how to do it to make it look legit.

The only thing still annoying me is my voice. For the most part, this nagging sickness is finally gone…but my voice is still not entirely back. And now we have to go into the recording studio tomorrow to record our tracks (just in case we do lose our voice on tour or if they want to make a cast album one day) and I want to be as healthy vocally as I can be. I even turned down going out for drinks with my Busytown cast tonight (which I’ve been looking forward to all week) to stay in, drink tea and not talk…cus I don’t think spending the night in a loud bar, drinking beer would help my current vocal condition.

It’s just really starting to frustrate me now. Because I really want to be at my best. And I think the fact that I do go into rehearsal and still dance and sing as hard as I can, regardless of my health, is not helping my voice come back as fast as it should. I just really need a rest…and there’s no time. We open in just over a week. I’m just so mad with my body right now, I’m sick of this. I. JUST. WANT. TO. BE. BETTER.

Thankfully, my roommate Kaitlin is super understanding. She’s not sick…but she’s very similar to me in the sense that we get home from rehearsal, eat and then kind of just want to pass out. This process is super tiring…and I was expecting it. But I hate sacrificing time with my friends to take care of my health. Because I shouldn’t have to. But I guess I’m not as invincible as I think I am sometimes.

In happier news – we choreographed my solo today! And it’s adorable…I’m really happy with it. As hard as this past week has been, I am so happy to be here. I feel like this kind of work is totally what I’m meant to do…and I’m so excited to get on the road and share it with everyone.

And to get my annoying, high-pitched voice back.

Tuesday, January 1, 2013

Ringin' in the New Year with a bottle of gingerale in the 'peg!

Happy New Year!! As odd as it was to celebrate new years away from home…I’m very excited to see what 2013 brings. I’ve already got this new exciting adventure on my plate, I’m happy as a clam with this year already!

My New Year’s Eve was pretty uneventful…we had a really short morning rehearsal, just to go over and clean all the choreography we’ve learnt up until this point. Then, I headed to the mall to grab some things before heading back home. I made myself some beef and broccoli for dinner (I’m gonna miss having a full kitchen when we leave in 2 weeks) and then Kaitlin and I decided to go see a movie – a nice quiet activity to minimize my speaking, haha. We ended up seeing Les Mis, and I loved it just as much the 2nd time. We then went back to the hotel and spent the rest of the night watching New Years specials on TV in our sweats before passing out after midnight finally hit. I did make it to midnight though! I was pretty proud of myself for that.


Today, however, has been a complete throw-away day. Thankfully, my throat doesn’t hurt anymore and my nose has cleared up, but my voice is still on the mend so I’ve literally spent the entire day in my pajamas, watching TLC and HGTV marathons with Kaitlin. And drinking lots of water…it’s been unproductive, but I think my body needed the rest.


Tomorrow, we’re right back into rehearsal for another week so hopefully I’m almost good as new. I’m fed up with this sickness now – I’m ready to work! I hope all my family and friends had a wonderful New Year’s Eve though – I wish I could’ve been back home to celebrate with you guys. As happy as I am to have this amazing opportunity again – I am feeling a little homesick right now.