And I’m back on the road!! Being back at home for a few days was absolutely lovely (it was even nicer to do a couple shows on my home stage, Festival Place) and while I was definitely well-fed and quite lazy during my time there – it is nice to get back on tour. It’s also wonderful to have a much lighter suitcase and way less bags. I managed to accumulate A LOT of crap over 2 months, haha.
Wednesday morning we drove to Grande Prairie and that evening, we celebrated Lil’ B’s birthday. We all drank a lot of wine, ate a lot of cupcakes and just had a blast. The following day, we had our show in GP, and then after that, we began the trek to the West Coast!!!
Friday, we drove to Jasper. It was SO amazing to be back in the mountains…I always get really nostalgic when I go to the mountains just because I remember so many family vacations in the Rockies and I always wanted to live there when I was little…in fact, I’m pretty sure I still want to live there. The rest of the country has been pretty amazing so far…but BC takes the cake. Without question.
We had most of the afternoon and the night off in Jasper so all of us went out for a really nice Italian meal and then B and I hit up a couple pubs to just chill out and enjoy our time off there. We went to the Jasper Brewery and sat by the fireplace drinking locally brewed beers while the snow fell outside and I was just so incredibly happy. Even just walking back to the hotel, I couldn’t get over how beautiful it was outside (even if it was snowing). It was pretty dead there, as it’s kind of the off-season, so it was a little eerie how quiet it was but also really cool at the same time. Just taking a moment to stop in the street, on a quiet night in Jasper…so amazing. I couldn’t believe I was getting paid to be there.
Yesterday was a LONG day…we had a 9-hour drive to Vancouver and B and I opted to ride in the truck with our stage manager James instead of in the van with everyone else (mainly to keep him awake and it would be a nice change of scenery). And while it was a very long drive (we had LOTS of caffeine and sugar to keep us all up) it was the best drive we’ve had yet. Mainly because driving through the mountains is a hundred times more interesting than driving through the prairies…and with the truck, we were all in a row in the front and there are HUGE windows so the views were fantastic. We just had so much fun and I don’t think I’ve been that happy in a long time. Being stuck in a truck with 2 people for 9 hours isn’t so bad if you really like the people…the 3 of us are also the closest in age and just click really well so it truly was a fun time. Best drive yet.
What also made the drive awesome is that we landed in VANCOUVER!!!!!!!!!!! Now, I know I fell hardcore in love with Toronto back in March…but I’m pretty sure Vancouver just kicked Toronto’s butt. EVERYTHING HERE IS SO GREEN! Lush green grass (I was tempted to hop out of the truck and roll in it multiple times), huge trees, blossoms and bright flowers everywhere…it even smells different here. Different than anywhere else in the country. The air is clean...fresh…and smells like FLOWERS.
WHY DOESN’T THE ENTIRE COUNTRY LIVE HERE?!
Seriously. I’m so happy I could cry. Why I ever thought I could love anywhere in this country more than Vancouver, I’ll never know…mountains, ocean AND a huge city? What more do you need? Honestly.
Last night, we went out for sushi (which I organized as I was hardcore craving it) and it was amazing. I’m pretty sure I’m going to eat fish the entire time we’re here.
But yeah. That’s it for my big West Coast update. Excuse me while I go roll in the grass and rub flowers all over my body. I want to bottle the air here and take it home with me…seriously…I love it so much. And tonight…we head to the island. Which is the place I’m most excited for as I’ve never been.
…it’s not gonna be easy to get me to come home.
No comments:
Post a Comment