I’m sorry for the lack of blog posts…it’s been a busy week. But I’ll break it down a little to keep things quick and easy.
Tuesday – Got up early to head downtown with Nicolette, one of the girls from my cast. We spent the day doing some serious shopping (I may need to buy a new suitcase…I’ve bought far too many clothes), went for lunch at Mr. Greenjeans, enjoyed the sunshine (it was nearly 20 degrees!!) then split up around dinnertime and I went to meet another old friend for drinks at this little dive bar just off of Dundas Square. Ended up staying in the city a little too late though, missed the last GO bus back to my hotel in Brampton and ended up taking a $100 cab ride home…oh well, at least it was an adventure.
Wednesday – We had a show in Brampton and it went well. Yeah…that was about it. The weather was also super nice and we spent most of the day tanning in the courtyard in front of the theatre.
Thursday – We had a 2-show day in my birthtown of Mississauga in one of the biggest and most beautiful theatres we’ve been in yet. Both shows went well too, although it was SUPER sweaty…I think it’s probably because of the warm weather we’ve been having along with the humidity of this province, but the shows this week have all been ridiculously hotter than usual. Like, “I-feel-like-I-just-stepped-out-of-a-shower” hot. We even had little stations set up with fans on either side of the stage to cool off when we weren’t onstage. So, yeah…it was warm. After the show, we had a post-show drive to Niagara Falls so we had some time to kill while they striked the set so we all headed to Square One (as it was across the street). So much fun!!
…I really need to stop shopping.
Friday – We had a 6:30 show in Niagara Falls and since our call wasn’t until 4, we had most of the day to kill so Lil’ B and I headed off to do some touristy things. We started off by taking the rail car down to the falls and then did the “Journey Behind The Falls”. We also had a lovely Italian lunch, did some shopping in the mini-Vegas-esque downtown of Niagara, got ice cream, had a little photo shoot in a beautiful garden we found, and mostly just enjoyed the absolutely GORGEOUS weather. Seriously, people were walking around in tank tops, shorts and flip flops. I even got a little color! I honestly felt like I was on vacation in July all day…and I kind of had this amazing moment where I realized that I was pretty much getting paid for it. I officially have no right to complain about my job. Ever.
Saturday (today) – We had a post-show drive back to the GTA last night so we were all pretty wiped by the time we got to our hotel in Milton. I had the hardest time getting out of bed this morning. We had 2 shows today in Milton and while the first one was a bit of a struggle (half the cast was battling various physical ailments plus the audience was very quiet), the second show went really well. Once again though, I sweated even more than I thought I could. This humidity is brutal! Plus, we got our new feet in (finally!) so we now have so much more mobility and flexibility and I’ve been going a lot harder now that I can.
My aunt and cousin also came to the show today and then afterwards, took me to their place to feed me (once again). We had escargot, steak, baked potatoes, salad, turnip (my fav!!) and then homemade banana bread pudding with rum sauce for dessert. To say that it was delicious would be a serious understatement. My aunt is such an amazing cook – I’m so thankful I got to spend some more time with her and have a delicious homemade meal. It truly was a great end to the day and I was really sad to say goodbye.
Now, we have 2 more days off in Milton and then we head to Sault Ste. Marie and the Western trek begins. Tomorrow, I’m going downtown with a couple of the girls and we’re going to see Legally Blonde in the afternoon. It’s playing in Toronto and I have a friend in it so I can’t wait!
Right now though, I’m feeling a little melancholy…it’s been a really crazy week and I’m having mixed feelings about leaving Toronto. I truly do love it here and while I’m grateful I’ve gotten to see so many parts of it, I still don’t feel entirely ready to go. I’m especially sad that I don’t know when I’ll get to see Aunty Wendy and Taylor again. Having the luxury of being so close to them for awhile made me realize how little I do get to see them.
However, there is a big St Patrick’s Day party at the BBB tonight and Eric skyped me for a bit so that I could see everyone however it just made me really sad that I’m not there. I’m also sad I’m missing Kaybee’s engagement party tomorrow.
Plus, I’m just missing a lot of people from home. I know I’ll be there in 3 weeks, but it still seems like a really long ways away.
But I should stop babbling…this has already gone far past the “quick and easy” post that I had promised. I’m hoping I’ll feel a little better in the morning. Everything always looks better in the morning.
Well…except maybe my hair.
Needed the long post. you had alot of catching up to do. It sounds like you are having an amazing time. I'm glad my wonderful sister is taking good care of you...runs in the family. Mind you, she never made ME escargot and steak!!! Glad you got some home cooking and sorry that we didn't get to skype tonight. Made Eric some perogies (side dish style instead of main course)for his birthday dinner. Missing you ;( can't wait to see you in 3 weeks. Love Mom
ReplyDelete