Well, it is done. We have officially opened the show!! And I pretty much want to sleep for the next 24 hours…
Today was a bit of a long day. We got to the theatre at 9:30 am, even though the show wasn’t until 1:00. We had a lot to do though in terms of re-spacing certain things as well as fixing blocking, choreography etc…then, we had our very first show in a real theatre with a live audience! And it was awesome. Considering we never got a full tech day or anything, it actually went pretty well. The only thing that sucks is that the wings are so dark and when you add a mascot head to that equation, you’re pretty much walking offstage into total darkness and have no idea where to go. Thankfully, we had a ton of great stage hands to help us out though.
But it was fun. The kids are SOOOOO cute. Oh my god, they’re so responsive and they all just get so excited. It’s amazing. I could do this for the rest of my life just to see the kids react like that, haha.
Though, I did sweat more than I ever have in my entire life today. We had 2 shows with only about 45 min in between and I couldn’t even tell you how much water I drank or sweat out this afternoon. It was pretty gross. It’s by far the most physically challenging theatrical endeavor I’ve ever had to do.
But I love it. It feels so good to be open and know the show is fairly solid. And it’ll only get better.
Next stop – Peterborough!
No comments:
Post a Comment